In an attempt to end Florida’s title as the state with the greatest percentage of uninsured drivers, the Florida legislature has introduced bills that would establish the Uninsured Vehicle Enforcement Program under the management of the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
Florida Leads the Nation in Uninsured Drivers.
For several years in a row, Florida has led the nation with the greatest percentage of drivers operating a vehicle without insurance. Compounding the matter, Florida has the lowest minimum insurance requirements in the United States, so even if a Florida driver has insurance, there is a good chance he or she has inadequate limits of coverage.
According to Florida House Bill 1039, “…the Insurance Information Institute reports that, in 2015, the estimated percentage of uninsured motorists in Florida ranked the highest of any state at 26.7 percent…”
HB 1039 and SB 1230 would authorize the installation and operation of automatic license plate reader systems throughout the state.
License plate information would be cross-referenced with auto insurance data held by the Florida Department of Transportation. Owners of uninsured vehicles identified by the license plate readers would be notified of non-compliance with state law and face established penalties and fines.
Ensure you are covered regardless of the other driver with uninsured and underinsured motorist liability coverage.
If you are involved in a not-at-fault accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver, your own auto insurance policy may provide you with coverage for your injuries. Note that your uninsured/underinsured motorist liability limits can be no more than your limits for at-fault bodily injury coverage.
For example, let’s assume your auto insurance policy provides you with $250,000 per-person and $500,000 per occurrence of bodily injury liability coverage. These are the maximum limits your policy would pay if you injured a person or persons in an auto accident. Your auto insurance policy should carry these same limits of coverage ($250,000 per person and $500,000 per occurrence) in the event of a not-at-fault claim involving an uninsured or underinsured driver.
Note that you do not need to be in a vehicle if you are injured by an uninsured or underinsured driver. If you are struck by an uninsured motorist as a pedestrian or bicyclist, coverage would still apply.
Don't leave anything up to chance, please contact a representative with Plexus Private Client Solutions to learn more on how to protect yourself and your family.